Skip to content

Between Two Dugouts – Ryan Rayburn

March 1, 2012

PhilCoke’sBrain: Today I am very excited to sit down with someone many Tigers fans have a lot to say about, Mr. Ryan Rayburn.  Ryan welcome, thank you for graciously granting this exclusive interview.

First question, how do you prepare yourself each day as a professional?

Ryan Rayburn: I wake up every day at 4:30 and do some P90X to get pumped up for the day.

PCB: Very ambitious, that is a seriously early start to the day for someone in our our field. Lynn Henning will be very excited to hear about that intense fitness regiment!

So Ryan, tell me, do you have any superstitions?

Ryan: moth balls.

PCB: Okaaay…I’m not even going to ask a follow up question on that one, must be a southern thing. Ha ha.

Many people have observed that you are a rather slow starter. Do you feel this is true?

Ryan: Sometimes, I like perfection.

PCB: Oh.

Well, hum. I guess this makes sense in a weird, twisted way.  It is kind of all or nothing with you huh!?

Moving right along, where do you feel most comfortable playing?

Ryan: On my couch with a cold bear.

PCB: Like a polar bear? Kinky. Haha, I tease, I tease.  You know there are a lot of your followers who would say your couch would be the best place for you.

Speaking of haters, how do you deal with all the criticism that is directed your way?

Ryan: You mean the jealousy? I take it and crush it like a red bull.

PCB:  Yes, jealousy, that is definitely it, yup. Must be it.

What do you think of the new guys that we’ve brought in this year?

Ryan: They are all slackers. I care more about their career then they do.

PCB: You must be talking about Gerald, he’s always just lounging around, am I right? haha.  It’s very noble of you to watch out for Prince, but I’m not sure he’ll need a lot of care from you though,  no offense.

Tell me this, when you were coming up through the minor leagues did you have any idea that you might be the Detroit Tigers starting 2nd baseman on opening day?

Ryan: What?! I am? Where are my checks being sent?

PCB: Wait… Did you go to  Durant High School in Plant City? Were you drafted in the 5th round in 2001 out of South Florida Community College?

Ryan: I have no idea what you are talking about. I’m from Arizona. Who the heck are you again anyway?!

PCB: Oh,… well.  Um, yeah.  I think we may have a little glitch here friends. This is really awkward.  Well, um, thank you Ryan for your time and your insightful answers!  I think we are out of time.

Ryan: *shakes head*

______________________________________________________

A big thank you to the real Ryan Rayburn for playing along and being a great sport.  Be sure to connect with him for all your financial advising needs!

Evidently,  if you would like to know more about the Tigers second half slugger, you need to look for Ryan Raburn.  Huh, go figure.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 1, 2012 3:28 pm

    Hahahaha. Excellent.

Leave a Reply

