Skip to content

Detroit Tigers Cereals

February 22, 2012

Ok, this blog is getting way out of hand.  I promise soon I’ll mix in some actual, legitimate baseball content at some point. But since this seams to be “trending” (as the kids say) today, I thought I’d try to start a list.

The whole phenomenon started with the arrival of “Fastball Flakes”, a cereal Justin Verlander graciously lent his name to to support veterans causes.  Before we go any further I think we should acknowledge the fact that Justin was extremely generous with his time and resources to make this happen.  In fact he’s giving 100% of the proceeds away, which I understand not every athlete does.

I’ll skip the twitter play-by-play, but after I suggested I would rather have some “Porcell-Os” things kinda took off. Many were contributing their Tigers cereal names. Perhaps completely by coincidence @MLBNetworkRadio picked up on the topic too. (Check out THIS for general awesomeness)  I’ll try to credit the creators as much as possible. Just chew me out if I missed you. (har har)

My contributions are

  • Porcell-O’s
  • Apple Jacksons
  • Raisin Brandon
  • Octavi-Oats
  • Mueslex Avila
Others I’ve seen
  • Count Dracu-Laird – @mike_is_bored
  • Boesch-i Go Lean – @mike_is_bored
  • Jhonny Nhut Cheerios – @mike_is_bored
  • Raburn Bran – @mike_is_bored
  • Scherzer Pebbles – @Baroque97
  • Kelly Charms – @Baroque97
  • Raysin Bran – @Baroque97
  • Captain Crunch with Miggy on the box – @Baroque97
  • Fister Flakes – @Mickey_baseball
  • Prince Puffs – @devildogdandy
  • Jackson Holes – @devildogdandy
  • Rod Allen’s Beans & Rice Cereal – @M_liver
  • Fister Toast Crunch – @M_liver
  • Donald Kelly’s Anytime Cereal – @M_liver
  • Cabby Crunch – @TheRoar_24
  • Frosted Fielders – @Detroit4lyfeRob
  • Frosted Mini Cletes – @CoreyDMonroe & @DNR_Rogo
  • Did I miss yours? Let me know and I’ll add them.

Remember, whatever cereal you choose, make sure to pour on lots of cold Wilk.

Bonus content:

I don’t really know where these fit so I’ll slap theme here.

@notlindsay did a awesome job making this:

so precious

Here is her trophy

Also, I observed that Prince and Miguel together looked vaguely familiar.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2012 2:49 pm

    Frosted Mini-Cletes? I’m bad at this…

  2. Baroque97 permalink
    February 22, 2012 2:54 pm

    Excellent. A worthy addition to the pantheon of “cereal-themed posts on sports blogs.”

  3. jasondprice permalink
    February 22, 2012 11:07 pm

    I can’t think of any for the the Tigers, but the Twins are definitely the generic store brand

Leave a Reply

