Skip to content

2011 Detroit Tigers Fan of the Year

December 5, 2011

Think award season is over? Nope. Everyone has gotten the recognition they are due with one glaring exception – the people who pay all the bills. So instead of ranking Tigers prospects 1-300, I’ve decided to rank the people who are truly important: the completely committed fan.  What makes a good fan you ask? Here are the criteria I’ve used:

  • Have I heard of this person? Sorry, I know that disqualifies many of you.
  • Are they totally batshit insane about the Tigers?
  • They must not be professionals nor be from a blog that’s too fancy. Sorry BYB, MCB, TigsTown, ect people
  • Total devotion to the Tigers – I don’t want to hear about your back up team. (I’m looking at you Alli and Sam)
  • Is this person generally cool

Enough with the pleasantries, let’s do this!

5. Grey, @spacemnkymafia

If tweets were packages of food this guy could cure world hunger. A wonderful blend angst, knowledge, and volume. I almost disqualified him for having too fancy of a blog, but he’s my number 5.

4. Mike, @mike_is_bored

His handle is no misnomer. He is bored, a lot. But he loves his Tigers and isn’t afraid to show it.

3. @MliveCommenter

Sure, he or she doesn’t know anything, but isn’t that charming in a way?  The impassioned way this fan capslocks RAYBURN or demands a trade for Robinson Cano is all heart (no brains).

2. Ashley, @Ashl3yCouturier

No one stays on topic like Ashley.  She would be terrific in a presidential debate if her talking point was “Tigers”. She thinks baseball players are hot.

.

.

Ready?

.

.

1. Alexandra, @littlestclouds

I haven’t quite figured out if she’s the littlest cloud, or if she’s little and from St. Cloud.  Anyway, she is this year’s Brain Matters Fan of the Year.  Reasons why she’s stood out:  She was pretty much my first follower when I started this crazy adventure. She seems plugged in with everyone else in the twitterverse (I don’t know if that’s by their choice or not). She drops a steady stream of Tigers passion.  Congratulations Alexandra, you win nothing but this mention! ta da!

Mentions (decide for yourself if they are honorable or not)

  • Sandra, @batmaneatsbabie
  • Kenneth, @djKennethThomas
  • Joshua, @docworn
  • Will, @willrhymes
  • This Mantis 
  • Jon, @MonkeyWrench32
  • Cath, @Baroque97
  • Jennifer, @VivaTigres
  • Heather, @hetobeto

There you have it. Are you the BIGGEST Tigers fan ever and I missed you? So sorry, try again next year, you failure (kidding). If I don’t follow you, you can always get my attention with @mentions.  I read every last one.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. ivantopumpyouup permalink
    December 5, 2011 11:12 pm

    Yesssss. My existence has been validated!

  2. December 5, 2011 11:30 pm

    My life has meaning now. Awesome.

  3. Hetobeto permalink
    December 6, 2011 7:15 am

    Woo! I have a mention! (Even if I was ranked below the mantis. I’ll just have to ramp things up a bit for next season.)

  4. December 6, 2011 10:17 am

    It’s an honor just being mentioned. I assume that as the winner, Alex is now privy to your identity. Don’t worry, she won’t tell the rest of us.

Leave a Reply

