Skip to content

Shift

April 20, 2013

Confession time. I’m not really Phil Coke. Well, you knew that already didn’t you? Truthfully, I haven’t even been a Phil Coke parody for a long time, if ever. Sure, I’ve written from Phil’s perspective, but basically the twitter feed has been a character I’ve built, stupid jokes, and Phil Coke references. But you know all this already, so why am I talking about it?

First of all, It is time to be done with the parody. Sure, it is a fun idea, but about a week into it I decided it was silly to act like the rest of the player parodies. I decided that I would put my own spin on it and abandon strict adherence to Phil’s life and play.

Second, When I started this silly account I thought the world of Tigers baseball was so beyond me I really couldn’t touch it. However, over the last year it has opened up the opportunity to have a host of conversations. At first I could just write whatever I wanted knowing no one of any importance would ever see it or care. As it has grown some people have picked up on it. It has even gotten to the point where people are asking Phil Coke himself about it.  That’s not fair to Phil. In order to  ensure there is no confusion, I am dropping the guise. I have the utmost respect for Phil and never want to make him upset.   I hope it is pretty clear that I think Phil is awesome.

Why is Phil awesome? Yes, he does take the game seriously but you get the sense that he does know IT IS A GAME and it looks like he is HAVING FUN. Baseball is an activity that brings joy to peoples’ lives. If following and/or writing about the Tigers doesn’t bring you joy, you are doing it wrong (unless it is your job, then it is completely fine to be miserable).

Third, I simply don’t have the discipline of someone like @oldhossradbourn who can faithfully hide behind the wall. I enjoy interacting with people and have even had the opportunity to meet some of you. I would like to do more of this in the future, but I can’t do this if I’m so tied to this guise. In fact, I was hoping to attend the blessyouboys.com meet-up before scheduling conflicts arose.

So as of today there is going to be a slight shift. I am no longer going to write and tweet from Phil’s perspective but from my own (well, kind of). I am still going to keep a low profile, but I’ll be a little more open about myself if you are interested (you aren’t). Don’t worry, I will still be the same old Phil Coke’s Brain and will always center on Detroit Tigers baseball and general merrymaking. I’m not going to change my blog name or my twitter handle, but I have changed the name on my Twitter account to Eric (since that’s my name). Think of PhilCokesBrain sort of like a really dorky CB handle. Shoot, if there is a guy that goes by “Christmas Ape” maybe I can still use PhilCokesBrain. Of course Coke will remain a focal point of the account and the blog, because that is awesome.

In the end this is really nothing new. I just hope I don’t wake up tomorrow and see I don’t have any followers left.

Out!
PhilCokesBrain

5 Comments leave one →
  1. monkeywrench32 permalink
    April 21, 2013 12:02 am

    I absolutely respect and support your decision. Keep being awesome!

  2. monkeywrench32 permalink
    April 21, 2013 12:26 am

    I just realized that it made you sound like you were coming out of the closet. Sorry about that.

  3. @wardb4 permalink
    April 22, 2013 12:15 pm

    In the words of the great Diana Ross:

    I’m coming out
    I want the world to know
    Got to let it show
    I’m coming out

  4. dannolee permalink
    April 22, 2013 3:24 pm

    Welp, I guess I can stop ruling out co-workers and family members.

  5. June 28, 2013 7:03 pm

    Oh god, now even Phil Coke is denying any association with Phil Coke.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

